Connecticut employers, get ready for more changes to employee leave laws


Changes coming as soon as October 1

Employers with employees in Connecticut can look forward to more changes to the state's leave laws.

On May 9, Governor Lamont enacted a law that revises the paid family leave and the unpaid family and medical leave provisions.

He is also expected to sign a bill enacting changes to the state's paid sick leave. As of this writing he has not yet signed it.

Changes to paid family leave and unpaid family and medical leave coming soon

Effective October 1, 2024, the law adds victims of sexual assault or abuse to those entitled to take paid family leave.

Employees can receive income from both the paid leave and from the victim compensation program administered by the state's Office of Victim Services, provided the total pay does not exceed 100 percent of the employee's pay.

Employers paying wages to employees must:

  • Register with the Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Authority (PFMLI), and
  • Submit required reports in a form and manner the PFMLI prescribes.

The change will also expand the state's unpaid family and medical leave to include victims of sexual assault.

Employers can expect paid sick leave changes, too

Under another bill delivered to the governor, the state paid sick leave will cover more employers as follows:

  • January 1, 2025 – Employers with 25 or more employees in the state
  • January 1, 2026 – Employers with 11 or more employees in the state
  • January 1, 2027 – Employers with one or more employees in the state

Currently only service workers may take paid sick leave. Beginning January 1,2025, all employees will be entitled to the leave, with limited exceptions for "seasonal employees."

Instead of accruing one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, employees will accrue one hour for every 30 hours worked.

What will the new paid sick leave cover?

Employees may use paid sick leave after being employed for 120 calendar days. They may take the leave for:

  • Their own or a family member's illness, injury, or health condition;
  • Their own or a family member's medical diagnosis, care, or treatment;
  • Their own or a family member's preventive medical care for mental or physical health;
  • The employee's own mental health wellness day;
  • Closure due to a public health emergency, of either an employer's place of business or a family member's school or place of care;
  • Situations where an employee or employee's family member poses a risk to others due to exposure to a communicable illness, and
  • Situations where an employee or employee's family member is a victim of family violence or sexual assault.

Key to Remember: Employers in Connecticut need to be prepared for some leave law changes beginning October 1, 2024, and more changes beginning January 1, 2025.

This article was written by Darlene M. Clabault, SHRM-CP, PHR, CLMS, of J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc. The content of these news items, in whole or in part, MAY NOT be copied into any other uses without consulting the originator of the content.


The J. J. Keller LEAVE MANAGER service is your business resource for tracking employee leave and ensuring compliance with the latest Federal and State FMLA and leave requirements.